Shrubs with colorful foliage all season

by Bertrand Dumont

As a gardener, the frame on which you set up your creation is most often green. With the exception of earth, dark brown, flowers and buildings, your backdrop is made of a variation of green tones. Although the shades vary with the seasons, yellow-green in the spring, green-blue in the summer and green-red in the fall, you could end up finding the situation monotonous.

There are of course those flowers that allow you by their shapes, colors and flowering duration, to change your composition from week to week (thanks to good planning and ephemeral flowers [annuals]). However, at certain times you may find that color is less present or that weather conditions make the flowerings less extensive than you had planned. To avoid these situations, you can use leafy or evergreen shrubs with colorful foliage … throughout the season. Different from plants whose foliage changes color in the fall, they offer a constant and guaranteed show.

Three colors, shades and blends

Shrubs with colorful foliage can be grouped into three colors: red, yellow and blue (often described as gray). These are actually primary colors. The mixture of yellow and blue gives greens. The mixture of red and blue makes it possible to obtain purples. From these three colors were born many tones.

Leafy shrubs are rarely really red, rather they have a range of purple foliage.

Yellow leafy shrubs are mostly a yellowish-green and in some cases, really yellow.

Blues, which range from sky blue to dark gray, tend to be present in coniferous shrubs.

There are also plants said to have ‘variegated foliage’. These are plants whose leaves are of two colors, sometimes three, most often yellow and green. In some cases, the yellow borders a green leaf, sometimes the yellow is in the middle of a green leaf. If you observe closely the leaves of the same plant, you will realize that the ‘variegations’ are most often irregular. This is completely normal.

Sparse use

Unless you have a particular project, you must use shrubs and conifers with colored foliage with restraint. Because of their singular characteristics, once installed in your garden, these plants (especially yellow and red ones) will become real stars since they will stand out against the green background. You certainly don’t want to have a garden where there are only divas. You won’t know where to turn your head (everyone knows divas turn heads!). Each corner of the garden may have its star, but they must not compete. Otherwise, they risk competing (visually I mean!).

They are stars! Prepare a box for them to play their full role as a star! No more no less.

A few shrubs with red foliage

You will find some in barberries. There are five varieties whose height varies from 40 cm to 1.20 m. The colors fluctuate around burgundy red. Be careful, these plants have thorns.

Big shrubs, Japanese maples mostly offer dark purple tones. On the other hand, some have scarlet red foliage at the beginning of the season. Many bear thin, very serrated leaves. Generally, 2 to 3 meters high, there are also weeping forms (they are then superstars).

The European smoke tree is aptly named because not only is its foliage colorful, but its flowering as well.

There are three red-leaved ninebarks. One has red foliage with coppery red shoots in the summer, while the other two are dark burgundy. They are between 1.25 and 2.5 m high.

It is mainly small weigelas that have purple to burgundy foliage. They are 0.80 to 1.20 m high. Their flowering, pink or red, are additional assets.

These plants love full sun and their color is usually less pronounced if you place them in the shade.

A few shrubs with yellow foliage

A barberry has yellow foliage, but two others have leaves that strongly tend to be orange. One is a dwarf, and the others are low.

One of the many dogwoods has golden to chartreuse foliage. It is 1.5 meters high.

The yellow-leaved European smoke-tree has leaves that range from lime green to golden yellow. It is up to 4 meters high.

The mock orange is certainly the most famous yellow-leaved shrub. A classic with initially bright yellow foliage, then greenish-yellow during the summer. 1.25 m high, it supports the size very well.

Two ninebarks (between 90 and 1.25 m high) have bright yellow foliage. A third (± 2 m) has coppery shoots in addition to light yellow foliage.

A red elder has very serrated leaves which give it a very original appearance.

In dwarf spireas, several cultivars (more than 12) have yellow foliage. Some also have orange, orange-red or purple-red shoots. These plants are 20 to 90 cm tall. These spireas bear pink or red flowers in the summer. The best known, but above all the most cultivated and the most sold in the world, is the ‘Gold Mound’ spirea which was hybridized by a Quebecer from Laval.

It is sometimes risky to place shrubs with colored foliage in the very bright sun. As the leaves are “fragile”, the risk of burns is greater. A light shade, that is, no sun during the hottest hours of the day, is preferable. 

A few shrubs with variegated foliage

There is of course the famous and classic elegant dogwood with green leaves variegated with white. There is also the variety whose leaves are variegated with yellow and pink, and that with green and ivory white foliage.

There is a wide variety of variegated Fortune Euonymus. The evergreen leaves are variegated with different ways of green and yellow, or green and white. The advantage of these plants is that they grow well, and retain their color, if you plant them in partial shade or in the shade.

Willows with variegated foliage offer quite a show. They are superstars. Their pink shoots give rise to green leaves spotted with white in one case and pinkish-white in another.

The variegated weigelas, often of small size, have yellow or white colored leaves. The summer flowering is red or pink.

You can use most plants with variegated foliage in light shade. However, it may happen that the color is less intense.

A few shrubs with blue or gray foliage

The Russian-olive is one of the only deciduous shrubs to bear silver foliage. All other plants with blue or gray leaves are conifers.

This is the case of the Colorado spruce and its blue selections: the famous blue spruces. There is a wide choice, some reach just 40 cm high while others rise up to 5 or 6 m. Some are conical and others are ball-shaped.

Some pines, sold under the name ‘Glauca’, have bluish foliage (more or less). On the other hand, a large number of junipers have very bluish needles. Many are conical (2.5 to 6 m), while others are creeping. They are then 15 to 30 cm high, but can cover surfaces 2 m wide.

Plant blue or gray foliage plants in very sunny situations, as they usually do not like shade.

In order to choose the colorful foliage shrubs that are best suited to your landscaping, ask for advice from Passion Jardins coaches in your area.

Des arbustes à feuillage coloré toute la belle saison

par Bertrand Dumont

Comme jardinier, la trame sur laquelle vous mettez en place votre création est le plus souvent verte. À l’exception de la terre, brun noir, des fleurs et des constructions, votre toile de fond est faite d’une variation de tons verts. Bien que les nuances varient avec les saisons, vert-jaune au printemps, vert-bleu en été et vert-rouge à l’automne, vous pourriez finir par trouver la situation monotone.

Il y a bien entendu les fleurs qui vous permettent par leurs formes, leurs couleurs et leurs durées de floraison de modifier votre composition de semaine en semaine (grâce à une bonne planification et aux fleurs éphémères [annuelles]). Il arrive toutefois qu’à certaines périodes vous trouviez que la couleur est moins présente ou encore que les conditions climatiques fassent que les floraisons sont moins étalées que ce que vous aviez planifié. Pour éviter ces situations, vous pouvez avoir recours à des arbustes feuillus ou persistants au feuillage coloré… d’un bout à l’autre de la saison. Différentes des plantes dont le feuillage change de couleur l’automne, elles offrent un spectacle constant et assuré.

Trois couleurs, des nuances et des mélanges

Les arbustes à feuillage coloré peuvent être regroupés en trois couleurs : le rouge, le jaune et le bleu (souvent décrit comme gris). Il s’agit en fait des couleurs primaires. Le mélange de jaune et de bleu donne des verts. Le mélange de rouge et de bleu permet d’obtenir des pourpres. De ces trois couleurs sont nées de nombreuses tonalités.

Les arbustes feuillus sont rarement réellement rouges, ils présentent plutôt une gamme de feuillage pourpre.

Les arbustes feuillus jaunes sont le plus souvent vert-jaunâtre et dans certains cas, réellement jaunes.

Les bleus, qui vont du bleu ciel au gris foncé sont plutôt présents chez les arbustes conifères.

Il existe aussi les plantes dites « à feuillage panaché ». Il s’agit de plantes dont les feuilles sont de deux couleurs, parfois trois, le plus souvent du jaune et du vert. Dans certains cas le jaune borde une feuille verte, parfois le jaune est au milieu d’une feuille verte. Si vous observez attentivement les feuilles d’une même plante, vous vous rendrez compte que les « panachures » sont le plus souvent irrégulières. C’est tout à fait normal.

Une utilisation parcimonieuse

À moins d’un projet particulier, vous devez utiliser les arbustes et les conifères à feuillage coloré avec retenue. À cause de leurs caractéristiques singulières une fois installées dans votre jardin, ces plantes (surtout les jaunes et les rouges) vont devenir de vraies vedettes puisqu’elles se détacheront sur le fond vert. Vous ne souhaitez sûrement pas avoir un jardin où il n’y a que des divas. Vous ne sauriez plus où tourner la tête (tout le monde sait que les divas font tourner les têtes!). Chaque coin du jardin peut avoir son étoile, mais celles-ci ne doivent pas entrer en concurrence. Sinon, elles risquent de se faire compétition (visuellement j’entends bien!).

Ce sont des vedettes! Préparez-leur un écrin pour qu’elles jouent à plein leur rôle de star! Ni plus ni moins.

Quelques arbustes à feuillage rouge

Vous en trouverez chez les épines-vinettes. Il existe cinq variétés dont la hauteur varie de 40 cm à 1,20 m. Les couleurs fluctuent autour du rouge bourgogne. Attention, ces plantes portent des épines.

Gros arbustes, les érables du Japon offrent surtout des tons de pourpre foncé. Par contre, certains ont des feuillages rouge écarlate en début de saison. Plusieurs portent des feuilles fines, très découpées. Généralement haut de 2 à 3 m, il existe aussi des formes pleureuses (ce sont alors des superstars).

L’arbre à perruque pourpre porte bien son nom puisque non seulement son feuillage est coloré, mais aussi sa floraison.

Il existe trois physocarpes à feuillage rouge. L’un a un feuillage rouge avec des pousses rouge cuivré en été, alors que les deux autres sont bourgogne foncé. Ils ont entre 1,25 et 2,5 m de haut.

Ce sont principalement des weigelas de petites dimensions qui ont un feuillage pourpre à bourgogne. Ils ont de 0,80 à 1,20 m de haut. Leurs floraisons, roses ou rouges, sont des atouts supplémentaires.

Ces plantes affectionnent le plein soleil et leur couleur est généralement moins prononcée si vous les placez à l’ombre.

Quelques arbustes à feuillage jaune

Une épine-vinette a un feuillage jaune, mais deux autres ont des feuilles qui tirent fortement sur l’orangé. L’une est très naine, et les autres sont basses.

Un des nombreux cornouillers a un feuillage doré à vert chartreuse. Il mesure 1,5 m de haut.

L’arbre à perruque à feuillage jaune porte des feuilles qui varient du vert lime au jaune doré. Il mesure jusqu’à 4 m de haut.

Le seringat doré est certainement l’arbuste à feuilles jaunes le plus connu. Un classique au feuillage d’abord jaune vif, puis jaune verdâtre au cours de l’été. Haut de 1,25 m, il supporte très bien la taille.

Deux physocarpes (entre 90 et 1,25 m de haut) ont un feuillage jaune vif. Un troisième (± 2 m) a des pousses cuivrées en plus du feuillage jaune clair.

Un sureau doré présente des feuilles très découpées ce qui lui donne un aspect fort original.

Chez les spirées naines, plusieurs cultivars (plus de 12) ont un feuillage jaune. Certains ont aussi des pousses orangées, rouge orangé ou rouge pourpre. Ces plantes ont de 20 à 90 cm de haut. Ces spirées portent en été des fleurs roses ou rouges. La plus connue, mais surtout la plus cultivée et la plus vendue dans le monde, est la spirée ‘Gold Mound’ qui a été hybridée par un Québécois de Laval.

Il est parfois risqué de placer des arbustes à feuillage coloré au très grand soleil. Comme les feuilles sont « fragiles », les risques de brûlures sont plus grands. Une ombre légère, c’est-à-dire pas de soleil aux heures les plus chaudes de la journée, est préférable.

Quelques arbustes à feuillage panaché

Il y a bien entendu le célèbre et classique cornouiller élégant aux feuilles vertes panachées de blanc. Il y a aussi la variété dont les feuilles sont panachées de jaune et de rose, et celle au feuillage vert et blanc ivoire.

Il existe une grande variété de fusains de Fortune panachés. Les feuilles persistantes sont chamarrées de différentes manières de vert et de jaune, ou de vert et de blanc. L’avantage de ces plantes c’est qu’elles poussent bien, et conservent leur couleur, si vous les plantez à la mi-ombre ou à l’ombre.

Les saules à feuillage panaché offrent tout un spectacle. Ce sont de super-vedettes. Leurs pousses roses donnent naissance à des feuilles vertes tachetées de blanc dans un cas et blanc rosé dans un autre.

Les weigelas panachés, souvent de petites dimensions, ont des feuilles colorées de jaune ou de blanc. La floraison estivale est rouge ou rose.

Vous pouvez utiliser la plupart des plantes à feuillage panaché à l’ombre légère. Toutefois, il peut alors arriver que la couleur soit moins intense.

Quelques arbustes à feuillage bleu ou gris

L’olivier de Bohème est un des seuls arbustes à feuilles caduques à porter un feuillage argenté. Toutes les autres plantes à feuilles bleues ou grises sont plutôt des conifères.

C’est le cas des épinettes du Colorado et de ses sélections bleues : les fameuses épinettes bleues. Il en existe un vaste choix, certaines atteignent à peine 40 cm de haut alors que d’autres montent jusqu’à 5 ou 6 m. Certaines sont coniques et d’autres sont en forme de boule.

Quelques pins, vendus sous le non de ‘Glauca’, ont un feuillage bleuté (plus ou moins). Par contre, un grand nombre de genévriers ont des aiguilles bien bleutées. Plusieurs sont coniques (de 2,5 à 6 m), alors que d’autres sont rampants. Ils ont alors de 15 à 30 cm de haut, mais peuvent couvrir des surfaces de 2 m de large.

Mettez en terre les plantes à feuillage bleu ou gris dans les situations très ensoleillées, car en général, elles n’aiment pas l’ombre.

Afin de choisir les arbustes à feuillage coloré qui conviennent le mieux à votre aménagement paysager, demandez conseil aux coachs de jardin du Passion jardins de votre région.