Berberis

The Berberidaceae family is becoming more and more known and appreciated by Quebec gardeners, mainly the Thunberg (Berberis thunbergii) barberry, also called Japanese barberry or simply barberry. It must be said that we were unable, for 35 years, to cultivate and appreciate the decorative beauty of the barberry in Quebec, after these shrubs were forbidden to grow because certain species were the hosts of an extremely virulent fungal disease, black rust (Puccinia graminis).

Thunberg barberries generally form very branched and compact shrubs. Their height varies between 1 and 2 m (3 to 6 ft.). The bell-shaped flowers are usually yellow or pale yellow and are followed by red berries. The branches are very thorny.

Here are some varieties to prioritize, they come from selections or breeding methods making them resistant to black rust. They are sold in almost all garden centers in Quebec:

Japanese barberry atropurpurea – Berberis thunbergii

Var. atropurpurea

Prior to the removal of barberries by the Canadian government in 1966, the Japanese barberry atropurpurea was used extensively in many Quebec cities to create decorative hedges around opulent residences because of its compact vegetation. These living fences were even defensive, this shrub’s thorns being fearsome, even for cats.

This variation of the Japanese barberry’s small oval leaves shows a more or less dark purple color in the spring, which tends to become green during the summer. In the fall, this rounded shrub’s leaves turn purple-red. Its flowering occurs in the spring and is composed of small bell-shaped yellow flowers that contrast well with that period’s flaming foliage. The flowers appear under the foliage.

The Japanese barberry atropurpurea is typically 1 m (3 ft.) high and 80 cm (32 in.) wide. This shrub is grown in well-drained soil, in the sun or partial shade. In a shady situation, its colors are usually less bright. As it is hardy until zone 3, this star plant can be grown in many regions of Quebec.

It’s hybrids:

‘Concord’ Japanese Barberry

Berberis thunbergii var. atropurpurea ‘Concord’

This Japanese barberry cultivar has a velvety purple-red foliage that usually only reaches 18 inches (45 cm) tall. In a favorable environment, it can still reach 50 to 60 cm (20 to 24 inches) high and 50 cm (20 inches) wide. ‘Concord’ forms a shrub with dwarf, compact foliage. In the spring, it gives yellowish flowers which are followed in autumn by bright red ellipsoid fruits.

‘Crimson Pigmy’ or ‘Atropurpurea Nana’ Japanese Barberry

Berberis thunbergii var. atropurpurea ‘Crimson Pigmy’ or ‘Atropurpurea Nana’

Obtained in Holland following the selection of a plant in a batch of purple-leafed Japanese barberry, this shrub is smaller than the atropurpurea variation. This cultivar was introduced to the horticultural market in 1942. This small dwarf bark is only 60 cm (2 ft.) high and only 90 cm (3 ft.) wide. Its foliage is purple-red in the summer and red in the fall.

‘Rose Glow’ or ‘Rosy Glow’ Japanese Barberry

Berberis thunbergii var. atropurpurea ‘Rose Glow’ or ‘Rosy Glow’

The new foliage of this barberry, also known as ‘Rosy Glow’, is pink spotted with deep pink and variegated with cream. As they age, the leaves become brown and its variegation is less pronounced. This shrub, introduced in 1957 by a Dutch nursery, is vigorous, up to 1.5 m (5 ft.) high and 1.2 m (4 ft.) spreading.

The ‘Rose Glow’ Japanese barberry has erect stems that form a very dense shrub. Its foliage gives the most beautiful colors in the sun. In the fall, the colors of its leaves become more vivid. Its spring flowering is yellow and is followed by ovoid pink-red berries. The leaves take on an orange- red to purple-red fall hue.

We can prune this barberry so that it keeps its shape and beautiful coloration of its young shoots.

Aurea’ Japanese Barberry

Berberis thunbergii ‘Aurea’

This barberry is a star plant in landscapes, because of the brightness of its small golden yellow leaves. If this shrub is planted in the shade, its leaves turn yellow-green. It retains its color better in the sun.

Be careful, even if it is slow-growing, the ‘Aurea’ Japanese barberry can reach 1 to 1, 2 m (3 to 4 ft.) high and sometimes 1.5 m (5 ft.) wide. If you prefer a smaller plant, you should choose the ‘Aurea Nana’ cultivar, which is only 60 to 90 cm (2 to 3 ft.) High.

In the spring, this barberry produces pale yellow flowers along the stems: these are not very decorative. This cultivar gives red berries in the fall. Its fall colors are multiple, the coloring of the leaves vary between orange, red and yellow.

Berberis

La famille des Berbéridacées devient de plus en plus connue et appréciée par les jardiniers québécois, principalement les épines-vinettes de Thunberg (Berberis thunbergii), aussi appelé « épine-vinette du Japon » ou tout simplement « berbéris ». Il faut dire que nous avons été incapables durant 35 ans de cultiver et d’apprécier la beauté décorative de l’épine-vinette au Québec après l’interdiction de culture de ces arbustes parce que certaines espèces étaient les hôtes d’une maladie fongique extrêmement virulente : la rouille noire (Puccinia graminis).

Les épines-vinettes de Thunberg forment généralement des arbustes très ramifiés et compacts. Leur hauteur varie entre 1 et 2 m (3 à 6 pi). Les fleurs en forme de clochettes sont habituellement jaunes ou jaune pâle et sont suivies de baies rouges. Les branches sont très épineuses.

Voici quelques variétés à prioriser. Elles sont issues de sélections ou de méthodes de reproduction les rendant résistantes à la rouille noire. Elles sont vendues dans presque toutes les jardineries du Québec :

Épine-vinette de Thunberg à feuillage pourpreBerberis thunbergii

Var. atropurpurea

Avant l’interdiction des épines-vinettes par le gouvernement du Canada en 1966, l’épine-vinette de Thunberg à feuillage pourpre a été fortement utilisée dans plusieurs villes du Québec pour réaliser des haies décoratives autour des résidences cossues à cause de sa végétation compacte. Ces clôtures vivantes étaient même défensives, les épines de cet arbuste étant redoutables, même pour les chats.

Les petites feuilles ovales de cette variation de l’épinette de Thunberg arborent une couleur pourpre plus ou moins foncée au printemps qui a une tendance à verdir durant l’été. À l’automne, les feuilles de cet arbuste au port arrondi deviennent rouge pourpre. Sa floraison survient au printemps et elle est composée de petites fleurs jaunes en forme de clochette qui contrastent bien avec le feuillage flamboyant de cette époque. Les fleurs apparaissent sous le feuillage.

L’épine-vinette à feuillage pourpre atteint généralement 1 m (3 pi) de hauteur et 80 cm (32 po) de largeur. Cet arbuste se cultive dans un sol bien drainé, au soleil ou à la mi-ombre. En situation ombragée, ses couleurs sont habituellement moins vives. Comme elle est rustique jusqu’en zone 3, cette plante vedette peut être cultivée dans plusieurs régions du Québec.

Ses hybrides sont les suivantes :

Épine-vinette de Thunberg à feuillage pourpre « Concord »

Berberis thunbergii var. atropurpurea « Concord »

Ce cultivar de l’épine-vinette de Thunberg au feuillage violet-rouge velouté n’atteint généralement que 18 po (45 cm) de hauteur. Dans un milieu favorable, il peut quand même atteindre de 50 à 60 cm (20 à 24 po) de hauteur et 50 cm (20 po) de largeur. « Concord » forme un arbuste au feuillage caduc nain et compact. Au printemps, il donne des fleurs jaunâtres qui sont suivies à l’automne par des fruits ellipsoïdes rouge vif.

Épine-vinette de Thunberg à feuillage pourpre « Crimson Pigmy » ou « Atropurpurea Nana »

Berberis thunbergii var. atropurpurea « Crimson Pigmy » ou « Atropurpurea Nana »

Obtenu en Hollande suite à la sélection d’un plant dans un lot d’épines-vinettes de Thunberg à feuillage pourpre, cet arbuste est de plus petite taille que la variation atropurpurea. Ce cultivar a été introduit sur le marché horticole en 1942. Cette petite épine-vinette naine ne s’élève qu’à 60 cm (2 pi) de hauteur pour n’atteindre que 90 cm (3 pi) de largeur. Son feuillage est rouge pourpre en été et rouge en automne.

Épine-vinette de Thunberg à feuillage pourpre « Rose Glow » ou « Rosy Glow »

Berberis thunbergii var. atropurpurea « Rose Glow » ou « Rosy Glow »

Le nouveau feuillage de cette épine-vinette, connue aussi sous le nom de « Rosy Glow », est rose tacheté de rose foncé et panaché de crème. En prenant de l’âge, les feuilles deviennent marron, et la panachure y est moins prononcée. Cet arbuste, introduit en 1957 par une pépinière hollandaise, est vigoureux et peut atteindre jusqu’à 1,5 m (5 pi) de hauteur et 1,2 m (4 pi) d’étalement.

L’épine-vinette de Thunberg à feuillage pourpre « Rose Glow » est dotée de tiges érigées qui forment un arbuste très dense. Son feuillage donne les plus belles couleurs au soleil. À l’automne, les couleurs de ses feuilles deviennent plus vives. Sa floraison printanière est jaune et elle est suivie de baies rouge rose ovoïdes. Les feuilles prennent une teinte automnale rouge orange à rouge pourpre.

On peut tailler cette épine-vinette pour qu’elle garde la forme et la belle coloration de ses jeunes pousses.

Épine-vinette de Thunberg à feuillage jaune

Berberis thunbergii « Aurea »

Cette épine-vinette est une plante vedette dans les aménagements en raison de la luminosité de ses petites feuilles jaune doré. Si cet arbuste est planté à l’ombre, ses feuilles tournent alors au jaune vert. Il retient donc mieux sa couleur au soleil.

Attention, même si elle est de croissance lente, l’épine-vinette de Thunberg à feuillage jaune peut atteindre de 1 à 1, 2 m (3 à 4 pi) de hauteur et parfois 1,5 m (5 pi) de largeur. Si on préfère un plant de plus petite taille, il faut opter pour le cultivar « Aurea Nana », qui ne s’élève qu’entre 60 et 90 cm (2 à 3 pi) de hauteur.

Au printemps, ce berbéris produit des fleurs jaune pâle le long des tiges : celles-ci ne sont pas très décoratives. Ce cultivar donne des baies rouges à l’automne. Ses couleurs automnales sont multiples, la coloration des feuilles variant entre l’orange, le rouge et le jaune.